Prixe Fixe @ Chez Jules Chester 

Hi Lovelies, I hope you’re all well!

Today’s post is only a quick one, you’ll be relieved to see, but I simply HAD to share the meal I had with you all.

My mouth is actually watering again just thinking about it.

On Tuesday (19th Sept), I had booked to go and see Jon Richardson with a friend at the Storyhouse in Chester. It was pretty exciting because Jon is the first comedian to do a gig at the Storyhouse; hopefully this means more comedians will follow suit, but BACK TO THE FOOD!

So I threw out a tweet asking for suggestions about where to eat before the show. A fellow blogger, local to Chester, suggested I visit Chez Jules. Normally I wouldn’t pick a place that served French food, I don’t have anything against the French, I just don’t find their food particularly appealing.

I checked out the menu before hand and made sure there was a few options I could try, and booked a table online for 5:30.

We arrived a little earlier than our booking, but the staff were welcoming and happy to lead us to our table anyway.

As we arrived before 6pm, we were able to order from the ‘Prixe Fixe’ menu, which gets you 1 course for £9.95, 2 courses for £12.95 and 3 courses for £15.95. We opted for a main and a dessert, as the starters weren’t really doing anything for us.

I was toying with ordering the Braised Lamb Shoulder, but I went for the Seared Chicken Breast with petis poi, bacon and gem lettuce (although I barely noticed the lettuce).

The mains also come with a pan full of seasonal vegetables and gratin dauphinois, we had one pan to share and it was more than enough.

So the chicken was absolutely delicious, incredibly tender and juicy, presented on the bone. The skin on the chicken breast had been crisped up and seasoned beautifully, it paired well with the creamy sauce the breast is sat in. The veg was a lovely addition to the meal, my particular favorite was the gratin dauphinois because they weren’t overly creamy (which could have been overkill with my main) and they had a good kick of garlic.

We followed our main with a deliciously indulgent dessert.

I picked the dark chocolate tart with a quinelle of salted caramel cream and a praline/hazelnut crumb (I forget what it was exactly, but it was delicious all the same). The base of the tart was so thin it made it a little difficult to break off pieces in places, however the richness of the filling made me forget that minor issue.

My friend opted for the Banoffe Pie which I’m told was ‘very banana-y’, apparently that’s a good thing.

img_3896

The caramelised piece of banana is a very impressive touch to the dish.

img_3897

All in all, I was very impressed with Chez Jules. The bill came to just under £35 for two people having two courses and three drinks which I think is very reasonable.

The staff were wonderfully attentive and friendly, service was prompt and it was a lovely environment to dine in.

That’s it for now Lovelies, comment below if you’ve been to Chez Jules before, or if you make a visit after this, let me know what you think!

Till next time,

love, Leigh

xx

twitter // instagram // facebook

 

Leave a Reply

