Rituals Forced Me Into Getting a Skincare Routine…

Hi Lovelies, I hope you’re all well!

It has been an awful long time since I properly talked about a skincare. Anyone who knows me knows I don’t have a ‘routine’, if anything, my only routine goes:

1- Put on Makeup.

2- Remove makeup with facewipe.

Done.

I do confess to loving a good face mask/sheetmask and will treat my skin to one once or twice a week.

I’m not a total barbarian.

Basically what I mean is, I don’t have a rigorous 57-step skincare routine like some people do. I even resent using moisturiser; having combination/oily skin makes it very difficult (in my opinion) to find a moisturiser that won’t cause havolc with your skin. So far, I’ve opted to just go without, my skin seems to just look after itself..

That was until I was lured into the beautiful Rituals store at Cheshire Oaks one Sunday afternoon, killing time before I went to see the Lego Batman Movie.

Fatal.

To be fair, I’d been on the hunt for a good face scrub for a while. I had toyed with the idea of trying the face/body scrub from Lush, but the coarseness of the scrub (using rough salt) seemed a little too much for my face.

Walking into the store, I’ll confess, I knew absolutely NOTHING about the brand. I was struck by how beautiful the store interior was; a giant cherry blossom tree simply begging to be photographed, neatly organised, colour co-ordinated products and a calming music to help you spend more money than you’ve got.

I wandered around happily on my own for a few minutes before I was approached by an assistant asking if I needed help with anything… YES SMILING SHOP ASSISTANT, GIVE ME AN EASY SKINCARE ROUTINE, please.

Rituals have a wide range of products suitable for both beauty and home varying in scents inspired by Asian culture. From body scrub and hand cream to room spray, giant candles and even tea, this brand as you covered in a wide range of areas.

In spite of the wide range of products the store has to offer, it’s quite easy to identify the skincare range. The clean white packaging stands out from the variety of multi-coloured products on offer, my only issue was where to start. Thankfully the assistant was incredibly helpful and recommended me some of her favourites; the first being the Brightening Face Exfoliator, the second was the 24H Hydrating Gel Cream. I was also treated to a hand massage which was lovely.

The Brightening Face Exfoliator retails at £12.50 and contains 75ml of product. The fragrance is subtly sweet and floral (probably thanks to the Lotus Flower extract within it), but not over powering. The product itself is a bog-standard white cream with very a very fine grain exfoliant within it.
27010000_unknownThe instructions for the Exfoliator are to massage a small amount into a wet face and neck and rinse it off in lukewarm water. I tend to use this every 2-3 days to remove any product build up, be it make-up or skincare; for some reason it makes me think my skin is kind of a ‘blank slate’ afterwards, ready for the onslaught of make-up I’m likely to throw at it later.

I really like how fine the exfoliator is, I think I remember the assistant telling me they use sand rather than a coarser material like salt (I can’t find any substantial information on their website which is annoying). Whatever it is, I like how it feels like it’s actually removing the dirt, but not to the point where it feels like it took 2 or 3 layers of skin with it in the process.
I only use a small amount each time, no bigger than a 1p coin, which is a positive for me because I know I won’t have to fork out for a new bottle every week.
I’ll definitely continue to use this exfoliator in the coming months!

The 24H Hydrating Gel Cream was an unexpected purchase, I’ve gone a long time without using a moisturiser and my skin has managed OK without it, but given the amount of makeup I throw on it every day, I figured it was probably time to start considering using something again.

I was always hesitant to use moisturisers because I always believed it made my skin worse (i.e. more breakouts, huge pores etc), but that was before I learned I couldn’t just pick up a random product and expect it to work immediately, or simply use the same one my mum used. Mum and I don’t have the same skin type, so obviously it wouldn’t work *eye roll* – hindsight is a fine thing.

Anyway, after a while researching, I’ve finally figured out I have normal to combination skin, and the 24H Hydrating Gel Cream is perfect for exactly that skin type. Retailing at £26.50, a reasonable, middling price point given Rituals proudly use natural, organic ingredients in their products. Rituals describes the product as having, ‘natural antioxidants and an active hydrating complex. For a beautifully hydrated and supple looking skin‘; I like how this product doesn’t claim to do a million and one things, it has a simple focus and is easy to understand. Always a plus for someone who doesn’t usually care about skincare!

The packaging is fairly expensive-looking and reasonably weighty with 50ml of product inside it. I think the packaging is a little deceiving in that you’d imagine you’re getting more product than you actually do, but if you’re sparing with it, it’ll go a long way. The product itself is like a cross between a cream and a gel, which makes sense given the name (duh), and has a refreshing-looking greeny-blue tinge to it.

The scent is wonderfully sweet and floral which isn’t a problem for me personally, but I think for people who prefer something fragrance-free or something not too overpowering, it’s not ideal.

As I said earlier, I was a little disappointed that given the size of the product, there wasn’t a little more in the pot, that said, after using it for about 3 months now, I’m not even a ¼ of the way through my tub. As it claims to give you 24H Hydration, you’d imagine the product to be quite thick/heavy on the skin which is exactly what I hate. For me, it clogs up the pores and causes more problems – I don’t have time for it.
Trying it out, I’ve been pleasantly surprised to find the consistency is light, cooling and sinks into the skin really quickly. The product spreads nicely across my face, meaning I don’t use more to cover the places I’ve missed.

Because the moisturiser is so light-weight, Rituals also recommend this product for use 27010096_unknownover the summer months as your skin isn’t being battered by cold weather, plus heavy moisturiser and sweaty, sunny weather can’t be a good combination…

So, does this moisturiser leave me with supple skin?
Honestly, I’m not sure.

I think my skin has improved somewhat, my skin certainly remains hydrated all day (you could say a little TOO hydrated at times), it feels a little bit clearer although it probably can’t really compete with the stress of work, blogging and university all the time.

Overall I’m happy with my two purchases. I think I’m probably a little late to the party when it comes to Rituals, however I’m glad I’ve finally taken the plunge and will continue to pop in whenever I visit Cheshire Oaks (in spite of my impoverished bank balance).

So there we have it for this week.
Do let me know if you’ve tried any of these products, or Rituals in general, in the comments below!

Till next time,

love, Leigh

xx

twitter // instagram // facebook

4 thoughts on “Rituals Forced Me Into Getting a Skincare Routine…

  1. I really like gel creams, they always feel so much lighter on my skin! I love one of the rituals ranges, but I can’t remember what it’s called, all I know is that it’s pink haha! xx

Leave a Reply

