GUEST POST // Kat Von D – Brand Chat

Hey Lovelies, how are we all?

As you can see by the title, today’s post isn’t written by me. After some time of encouraging friends to try their hands at writing a post, one has finally taken up the pen and given me an amazing article I’m privileged to publish.

Lisa and I, Christmas 2015 

It was announced a few months ago that the incredibly popular make-up brand Kat Von D would begin to be stocked in Debenhams from September, needless to say,  UK make-up addicts and beauty bloggers screamed at their computer screens with delight.

While I have never tried Kat Von D’s make-up before, my friend Lisa has, and is completely in love with the brand, so it seemed entirely fitting for her to do a little ‘brand chat’ for me ..

Enjoy!

Kat Von D // Brand Chat

Hi Everyone!

As you can probably see I’m not Leigh, I’m Lisa, a friend of Leigh’s who reads her blog and is just as make-up obsessed as she is. Due to the launch of Kat Von D makeup into Debenhams this September and after using her makeup for some time, Leigh suggested I write a little something to let you all know what I think of the products, so here goes…

For those of you not familiar with Kat Von D, she’s a tattoo artist who found fame in the programme Miami Ink. Originally from LA, she found Miami hard to settle into and so moved back to LA where she set up her own tattoo shop ‘High Voltage’ which had its own TV show ‘LA Ink’.

Kat ventured into the world of makeup in 2008 and being a vegan, all of her products are cruelty-free and suitable for vegans.

I was first introduced to her makeup after my best friend went to America and came back with one of the Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks, I tried it once and was hooked immediately.

These lipsticks look like a lipgloss and have a sponge like wand to apply the colour. It applies on very easily, lines those lips, colours them in and let it dry (the instructions recommend leaving them for 10 minutes). Once dry you will be able to smile, drink, eat and even kiss that special someone in your life and it won’t budge. It stays on all day long, but I tend to top up while on my lunch at work just incase.

There is huge choice of colours, from dreamy nudes, vivid pinks and vampy darks.. every make-up addict will find at least one colour they love. Berlin and Bachorlette are my favourites, however my collection is growing regularly with my friend doing many a visit to the USA or Canada. Thankfully with the Debenhams launch coming soon, I won’t have to rely on her quite so often!

I suppose after the liquid lipstick chat it would be rude not to talk about the Tattoo Liner

Trust me when I say this, I’ve tried gel liners, Kohl pencils and even felt tip liners like the much loved L’oreal liner, but girls, if you like a felt tip pen type eyeliner because like me, you just cannot master the whole winged effect any other way, this is the eyeliner for you.

After trying so many types of eyeliner, I find this one so much easier to use. Whether you want a classic winged line, a more natural, barely-there line, or an instagrammable graphic line, you can achieve it all with this product. The reason, the nib of the pen, it is literally like a paint brush, with 325 flexible bristles it moves more than a standard felt tip liner and is just so easy to use, I honestly cannot recommend this enough!

While I was happy to wear my eyeliner and liquid lipsticks, along came Christmas 2014 and  with it came a present in the form of a highly coveted Studded Kiss Lipstick. I’ve never been a massive lipstick wearer, eyeshadow has been more my thing, so I was slightly surprised that I’d been bought one.

When I opened it I understood why. The packaging, shiny black with a studded effect (hence the name) and amazing pigmentation, I fell in love instantly. Especially after wearing it for a night out with friends and not having to reapply once!

So my best friend had recently been to the states and I requested a specific colour, ‘Piaf’. Named after one of Kat’s cats, Piaf is without fur and is a grey-brown colour, the lipstick is much the same and while I wouldn’t normally go for that shade I was unsure, but intrigue got the better of me. I was so excited to get my hands on it when my friend returned, and I was not disappointed. The shade has purple undertones and is just beautiful; perfect for an autumn/winter look!

I’ve probably gushed enough about these Kat Von D products and there is a whole range I haven’t even tried yet, but with the news of the products arriving in Debenhams just in time for Christmas, you’ve got a good idea what I’ll be putting on my Christmas List..

Start looking now girls and get those orders in, I guarantee you won’t be disappointed!

Till next time, 

love, Lisa (and Leigh) 

xx

Check out Lisa’s Instagram account here!

twitter // instagram // facebook

Leave a Reply

