WIBLT // June – July 2016

Hey Lovelies, I hope you’re all well!

It’s that time of the month again, where I make a tit of myself and round-up what I’ve been listening to for the past 4 weeks (give or take.. mostly give).

This month’s pickings have largely been inspired by festivals. Parklife, Glastonbury and Download have all pushed me away from my safety bubble of Lady Gaga and K-Pop, and on to ACTUAL NEW MUSIC.. well, for me anyway.

I’m going to change the format of this post a little bit, I hope you don’t mind! I’ve decided these posts can get quite lengthy, so instead, I’ll post the playlist/tracklist below and talk about my absolute favourite artist/song of the month after that.

How does that sound?
Good?
Ok, let’s crack on!

WIBLT // June – July Playlist

Forget – Lianne La Havas
We Sink – CHVRCHES
Elephant – Tame Impala
Rammstein – Rammstein
Keine Lust – Rammstein
The Sound – The 1975
Lies – CHVRCHES
Queen’s Speech 4 – Lady Leshurr
MOSKAU – Rammstein
Du Hast – Rammstein
Au Cinema – Lianne La Havas
Queen’s Speech 5 – Lady Leshurr
That’s Not Me – Skepta
Don’t Bring Me Down – Electric Light Orchestra
Somebody Else – The 1975
What Kind of Man – Florence and the Machine
Ship to Wreck – Florence and the Machine
Keep Singing – Rick Astley
Green & Gold – Lianne La Havas
Shutdown – Skepta
Angels On My Side – Rick Astley
Silver Springs – Fleetwood Mac
Bring Me To Life – Evanescence
Everywhere – Fleetwood Mac
My Immortal – Evanescence
Let It All Go – Birdy
Girls – The 1975
Mr Blue Sky – Electric Light Orchestra

As you can see, this month is a weird mix of pop, metal/emo and a tiny bit of grime, and then some Rick Astley for good measure (why not, his new album debuted at number one in the charts).

I think the biggest influence on this month’s playlist has been my falling in love with Rammstein again. I first heard them when I was about 10/11 years old and have loved them ever since (much to my parents despair). I was pretty gutted to have missed seeing them at Download this year, the videos of their performance looked pretty epic, as always. Maybe one day I’ll get to see them!

The rest are a combination of artists I’ve seen live or watched at Glastonbury (on TV, of course) this year.

My ultimate favourites from this playlist have to be the Lianne La Havas tracks, ‘Forget’, ‘Au Cinema’ and ‘Green & Gold’. I saw her support Coldplay this year and honestly, I was blown away by how talented (and beautiful) she is. If you only listen to one artist on this playlist, PLEASE make it her!

So there we have it for another month, let me know what you think of this months playlist in the comments below.

Till next time,

love, Leigh

xx

twitter // instagram // facebook

P.S. If you’ve got any music suggestions you think I’ll enjoy, don’t be shy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

