Summer Make-Up Haul

Hello Lovelies, I hope you’re all well!

I’ll start off by saying I didn’t MEAN to buy all this make-up… it just, fell into my hands and I accidentally handed over the money.

The intention to use what I had already was there, and that’s what counts.

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned where I work specifically before, but still, in essence I work in a store that has a beauty section and we get absolutely ALL SORTS of stuff in. I freely admit that sometimes we get some absolute crap, but 9/10 times we get products that are well worth being excited over.

I remember the first time we got NARS and Real Techniques, I ran to the till where a fellow make-up obsessed colleague was working and yelled ‘OH MY GOD WE’VE GOT NARS’ waving a white nail polish and a champagne coloured shimmer eyeshadow in her face (I bought it later, it was too good to leave behind). Anyway, I shouldn’t reslly blame work, it’s my own lack of self control that’s the problem.

As I said earlier, it can be quite hit and miss at work, but just recently we’ve been getting some absolute gems. I went home not too long ago and checked out the new Westfield Shopping Centre; mooching around Debenhams I spotted the Makeup Forever counter and remembered watching an interview Pixiwoo did with Kim Kardashian who talked about how her dad paid for her to have lessons in applying make-up properly (seeing as though she was so interested in it) with Makeup Forever.

While I haven’t heard a great deal about Makeup Forever in the UK, I know it’s pretty popular across the pond, so I my ears pricked up when I’d heard we’d got some of their products in store. Typically it was when I had about £12.78 to my name and was basically limping my ass to payday.

We were originally sent a foundation (which was a match but INCREDIBLY watery, I dabbed a little on my hand and I’d never seen so many wrinkles appear so quickly), a selection of lip glosses, and a totally stunning eyeshadow palette.

Damn. Just when I thought I could give Makeup Forever a miss this time around, I was tempted by the vivid pink/purple/blue combo, in addition to the beautiful neutral shades for the not-so-daring days. All that for £16.99.. should I, shouldn’t I, should I, shouldn’t I?

I slept on it for a couple of days, then went back to buy it once I’d got paid (by some miracle it was still there).  So, for £16.99 I picked up the dreamy Artist Shadows 2 palette (2 is no longer available, but 3 can be found on the Make Up Forever site), in addition to a vivid Artist Plexi-Gloss in Orange Red (400) for £5.99.

Naturally as soon as work figured out the makeup was being sold, they sent more. Once again, I was a sucker for it all. My second purchase was two lipsticks, the first, a Rouge Artist Intense lipstick in Pearly Violet (15) for £5.99 and another in Satin Black (50), again for £5.99. Finally, I picked up some cute looking face masks because they were made in Korea. How sad.

img_8073

I don’t know why but I’ve had a bit of a lipstick-buying-spree just recently. Not only had I bought those little goodies, I’d also FINALLY ordered myself two of the much sought-after Kylie Cosmetics lip kits.

image

After what felt like years of waiting and trying desperately to keep an eye out for the re-stock dates, suddenly Kylie Cosmetics had kits in abundance and I bagged myself Dolce K and Koko K. Unfortunately it was just my luck that I’d get a lovely £15 customs charged slapped on them when they arrived.. typical!

Anyway, I finally got my keen hands on them and will be talking about them in more detail  at a later date.

Finally, it was announced a while ago that Chester would finally be getting a proper NYX counter in the Boots store. Cestrian beauty fanatics squealed in unison when it opened on the 5th July, desperate to get their fix.

I obviously joined them, at my earliest opportunity and picked up a Cream Contour & Highlight Palette in light, as I’d been after a more blendable version after struggling with the powder kit from Sleek Cosmetics, a Colour Mascara in Purple (because, purple) and a Soft Matte Lip Cream in Cannes because I had to see what all the fuss was about!

It’s weird actually, to look at all my purchases together, it looks like a reasonable sized haul, but when you write it down, it doesn’t seem like much.. maybe I’ve been keeping my bank balance in mind after all!

Have you tried any of these products; do you love or loathe them?
Comment below and let me know!

Till next time,

love, Leigh

xx

twitter // instagram // facebook

One thought on “Summer Make-Up Haul

Leave a Reply

