High Street Vs High End // Perfect MAC Replacements?

Hey Lovelies, I hope you’re all well!

Today I’m going to be talking about a couple of drugstore make-up purchases I made quite recently and doing a little review/comparison between those and my trusty favourites.

It’s no secret that I’m a massive fan of MAC make-up. I’ve sworn by my Pro Longwear foundation and concealer for a couple of years now but I’m the first to admit that by using MAC everyday, it can become very expensive to replace.

Of course, normally I wouldn’t think twice about paying £43 (or £67 including the Mineralise powder I use over the top) to replace them once I’ve ran out, but this time I decided not to. Partially because I’ve got a boat that I want to re-model and decorate, AND it gives me the perfect excuse to write another make-up post!

I thought about trying out drugstore foundation and concealer after watching some old Pixiwoo videos, where Nic tested out a plethora of different brands, all claiming to offer a medium/heavy coverage (my preferred coverage, especially when I work in a busy shop). Some brands were total wash-outs, as I expected, but certain products really made my ears prick up.

I’ve tried branching out from the Pro Longwear collection once before, trying the MAC Waterweight foundation, however I hated it that much I figured I’d rather not make the same expensive mistake twice!

I had originally planned on giving the Soap and Glory ‘One Heck of a Blot’ foundation
a try, teamed with the Maybelline Eraser Eye Concealer however because I hadn’t had chance to visit the larger Boots store in Chester (blame a 9 hour shift at work) I ended up buying the Rimmel Stay Matte Foundation instead. I COULD have waited to buy the foundation I had originally set my eyes on (and I might still do so, for another post), however I had ran out of ALL my MAC foundation and didn’t fancy basting my face in concealer. So I grabbed the combo and headed home, looking forward to trying it out the next morning.

img_7459It’s been a few weeks since I bought the new products, and I feel like I’ve given them enough of a test to write a proper review.

I bought the Stay Matte foundation in the lightest colour, Ivory, and I’d prayed it wouldn’t look too orange underneath the MAC powder.
The problem with buying drugstore make-up, ESPECIALLY foundation, is that there’s no-one around to help you find the right shade. I’ll admit, when I was stood at each counter I had some embarrassing flashbacks to high school when everyone used to rave about that AWFUL Maybelline Dream Matte Mouse foundation; who could forget how orange and patchy it was? *shudders*

Before applying the foundation I used the Rimmel Fix and Perfect Primer that claims to help smooth, mattify, resurface, brighten (and mattify? I’m confused) and project (surely the same as brighten). To be honest, I’m not sure if it really works well, all I know is my skin feels nice and soft when I use it so that’s hardly a bad thing.

The first time I used the Stay Matte foundation I put WAY too much on my hand which was a shame because I wasted foundation, but quite handy to know that if end up liking the product, I’ll be able to get good value for money out of it. Now I use a blob smaller than a 5p coin and it gives me the perfect amount of coverage before adding concealer.

The consistency of the Stay Matte is a lot thicker than that of the Pro Longwear, you’d think that this would make the product difficult work into the skin, but I’ve found it very easy to use with a Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. Even with a small blob of product, this foundation manages to give me a good, even coverage with minimal redness around my nose and tops of my cheeks. Unfortunately the colour match still isn’t great, the first time I tried it I could tell I was going to look a bit orange, but for £6 I can probably live with it.

Moving on to concealer; I have seen MANY bloggers using this particular Maybelline concealer so I figured if so many people like it, surely it can’t be bad!

I bought it in ‘Nude’ because I thought the ‘Light’ would be too much of a contrast to the slightly darker foundation (especially if I went back to my Pro-Longwear) and to be honest, it isn’t a bad combination with the Rimmel foundation. The sponge applicator on the top of the tube means it’s easy to apply the concealer reasonably precisely, I wouldn’t use the sponge to correct eye-makeup or neaten up lipstick because it’s quite clunky and there’s no easy way to clean off the sponge.
Once I’ve applied the concealer I’ve found I get the best results (i.e. nicely blended, full coverage) by using my beauty blender. I’ve found the product quite light in comparison to the Pro-Longwear concealer, but buildable for any dark spots or blemishes that are refusing to cover-up.

img_7462
Top: Maybelline Concealer // Bottom: Rimmel Foundation

In terms of longevity, I’ve said in previous posts, the reason I love the Pro-Longwear range so much is because I know it’s guaranteed to stay on my face without going patchy or shiny all day. I don’t have time (and my managers don’t have the patience) to go and re-powder 2/3 times a day, so I need hard-working products. I’ve worn this combination of products to work a couple of times now, for shifts ranging from 4-hours to 9-hours, and I found it held up quite well after 4 hours, but after 9 it was in dire need of a touch-up, or just a wipe-off-and-start-again job. The make-up had become really shiny and patchy and it just wasn’t a good look; I think if I was planning on using this combination of products I’d have to re-powder every couple of hours just to make it go that bit further.
That said, I’ve used the Stay Matte foundation along with my Pro-Longwear concealer, and I have to say I was VERY impressed with the results. I wore them both over a long weekend at Parklife, and I have to say that in spite of the rain, it held up remarkably well.

img_7463
Top: Maybelline Concealer // Middle: Rimmel Foundation (Ivory) // Bottom: MAC Pro Longwear Concealer (NW15)

So the whole point of this post was to find a cheaper alternative to my MAC favourites, and although it hasn’t been a complete success, I’ll definitely be swapping the Pro-Longwear for the Rimmel foundation, shaving £25 off my make-up shopping, which is a start. I’ll probably carry on looking for the perfect concealer to go with it, but for now I’ll continue to use MAC.

Let me know if you’ve tried the products I’ve mentioned, and feel free to suggest any products you think I’ll like!

Till next time,

love, Leigh

xx

twitter // instagram // facebook

 

 

One thought on “High Street Vs High End // Perfect MAC Replacements?

Leave a Reply

