Life Update: 2016

Hey folks, long time no see! (once again…)

It’s been a while since my last post, and while I did have a TONNE drafted and pretty much ready to send out into the open, I simply didn’t have the energy to focus on my blogging the way it should be done. So, for what feels like the millionth time, I stopped.

HOWEVER, I haven’t simply been sat on my arse these past few months! To be honest, working in retail doesn’t allow for such a luxury, at times I’ve wondered if it was a good idea to set up camp in work because it was usually pointless me ever going home. Anyway, now the Christmas season is officially over, my hours have dropped down to bare minimum and now I have time to concentrate on doing what I love best.

Before all of that happens though, I do have the small task of moving out again into my new place, which happens to be my big exciting news.

A few months ago I helped a friend navigate his narrowboat down the canal, from Dewsbury (where she was bought) to Tattenhall, Chester (where she is now moored for the winter). Sadly I didn’t manage to do the whole journey (work got in the way, as usual) however I did manage to join him just before reaching Oldham, after he’d got most of the hilly parts out of the way. How convenient…

Still, spending a week on a narrowboat, working the Rochdale 9 and the umpteen other hellish locks before you even reach Manchester was what most other experienced narrowboat owners were describing as a ‘baptism of fire’. It most certainly was, but that didn’t put me off in the slightest.

My first night on board Terrabuoyant (her name, Terri for short) was spent trolling through adverts on Apollo Duck to find my own little home on the waves. Unfortunately, having come straight out of university with absolutely nothing but a dream and a Β£1,400 overdraft to pay off, it was never going to be a fruitful search. Something to think about later in life, perhaps.

Or so I thought anyway..

About a month ago I started looking for a new place to live, as I’m not particularly happy where I am at the moment. I started looking at moving in to a shared flat, something smaller than a house with three other guys, but didn’t find much joy, so my attention turned back to narrowboats. I’d had my eye on a little 37ft traditional boat (trad. basically means how much room you have on the back to actually steer the boat) but that had already sold by the time I got to visit the brokerage.

Instead I was shown a boat that had just arrived at the brokerage, a 42ft cruiser narrowboat (cruiser means I have lots of room at the back to steer, i.e. leisurely cruising – you get the idea) called Jocose. I would say as soon as I saw her (yes, it’s a she) I fell in love. Blue and red, with a lovely cruiser stern (big enough for me to probably have a BBQ on it), big kitchen, perfect layout and plenty of space for me to move all my crap in.

Seeing the boat gave me a lot to think about. Was it the right thing to do, moving out of the city centre (where I work) and into what is basically the arse-end of nowhere..? What are the transport links like? Where’s the nearest shop etc etc. The boring stuff, basically.

Anyway, after a lot of umm-ing and ahh-ing, I finally decided it to do it. I mean, what have I got to lose?!

I know it might sound weird at first, my manager asked me on day ‘can you watch tv and get wifi on it?’, yup, you sure can. When you think about it, they’re just houses that float, and I’ve managed to bag myself my own floating home, at 22!

I’ll admit, I’m feeling a little smug right now…

So with that big news out of the way, I should probably share some photos of my new baby.

Let me introduce to you all… Little Monster!*

 

 

*(Her new name, once I’ve changed the license over in February..)

Anyhoo, I suppose I should start packing everything up, so until next time!

love, LeighΒ 

xx

Β 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Life Update: 2016

  1. This is amazing! I grew up in a sailing family and so most weekends of my childhood where spent on the boat! Such a lovely feeling being able to fall asleep to the sound of the water! (I miss it!) Go you for being so brave! I am incredibly jealous! haha!
    Emily xx
    http://www.bambisbeautyblogs.com

Leave a Reply

