LUSH REVIEW: Curly Wurly Shampoo

Hey Folks, how are y’all?

Today I’m going to talk about a shampoo I’ve been loving for a good couple of months now, that seems to work pretty well on (what used to be) my dried-out, damaged hair.

As I’ve said in a previous post, my hair has been through an awful lot over the past few years, changing colour every couple of months mainly due to boredom, but now I’m settled on a mid-length ombre blonde (for now). But people that also dye their hair will know well enough that colour has to be maintained, especially as a blonde, to avoid brassiness and put moisture back into hair that has been totally dried out by the bleaching process.

I’ve been ‘blonde’ for roughly a year now and I’ve had to really take haircare seriously as a result. Before I went blonde I’d just happily wash and condition my hair with some Tresemme, or whatever was on offer in ASDA at the time, but I quickly had to learn to take better care of my hair, otherwise I’d probably be pulling my hair out in knotted clumps – not a good look!

I used to use a ‘silver’ shampoo (that actually comes out purple, which VERY exciting) every time I washed my hair, which kept the colour looking good enough for a while, but didn’t really help with anti-frizz or moisturising my hay-bale head. Obviously things began to improve when I started using the Kerastase treatment, however I think I was merely doing the bare minimum to help improve the strength of my hair. Eventually I decided it would be a good idea to shorten the length of my hair, taking a large(ish) chunk off and getting rid off the crappy dead ends for good. Sure enough, it seems to have worked wonders, but I also think it has a lot to do with the Curly Wurly shampoo I started using a couple of months ago.

After my 2-3 monthly pilgrimage to Lush, I got talking to one of the lovely assistants, who recommended the shampoo to help re-hydrate and strengthen my hair. I’ll be honest, I’ve only ever really visited Lush to buy bath bombs, face-masks and cleansers; I don’t care much for blocks of soap, the massage bars I think are redundant given I’m a single pringle and find it a bit sad trying to give myself a back massage, and the shampoo bars intimidate me a little, after growing up with the bog-standard liquid shampoo.

Still, this time the assistant managed to coax me away from my comfort zone, and introduced me to what sounded like the answer to my hair-based problems. Curly Wurly isn’t a shampoo bar (I wasn’t feeling brave enough for that), it’s a pot of coconut goodness, laden with coconut oil and jojoba oil, along with lemon and papaya juice to give what Lush market as a ‘deep clean’.. I’ve clearly been doing it wrong up until now – or maybe the girl thought my hair looked that bad… *cringe face*

Now when I first bought this I managed to get the medium sized pot, but after buying a second pot, it seems you can only buy the large ones at a slightly pricey £10.25 (for 220g). I think this a shame, because even though my medium pot has lasted me considerably longer than what I initially thought, it’s likely to put off some customers because it’s quite a price tag for something you can pick up in a supermarket at a lot less. Anyway, as I have no money or sense, I still bought it.

So in terms of the smell and the consistency of Curly Wurly, well.. its a little bizarre. That might jucurly wurlyst be because I’ve never used a Lush shampoo before, still, it’s probably best to describe this as a thick, lumpy (because of the coconut) paste that really needs working into wet hair before it starts to lather – quite different from standard shampoo, and actually reading that back it sounds pretty disgusting too…

The smell is also an interesting one. You’d probably think it’s a strong coconut smell, if it was I’d be much happier to use it every time I washed my hair. Instead I alternate with a silver shampoo to keep my hair looking as blonde as possible. Anyway, while it DOES smell of coconut, it also has an earthy scent, probably from the combination of cocoa butter, lemon juice and papaya. In my opinion it gives the scent a little more of a bite to it (weird turn of phrase to describe a shampoo I know, but go with me on it), instead of the overwhelmingly sweet coconut smell you might find in another variety.

I mentioned before that this product’s main ingredient is coconut oil, and as you can see in the photo’s there are flakes of coconut in the shampoo which certainly makes the product look nicer, but becomes slightly impractical when you come to rinsing your hair. The trouble with having the flakes of coconut is that while some of them will wash away happily, other flakes will cling to your hair and refuse to move, even after you’ve got out the shower and towel dried your hair. The first time I used the shampoo I was worried that the flakes would burn when I blow-dried my hair, probably a little irrational, but I thought it a valid concern… no-one wants burnt flakes of coconut in their hair, and besides no-one else would know it was coconut, to onlookers it could look like a serious dandruff problem.

Anyway as it goes, the remaining coconut flakes do fall out pretty quickly and the results after using the shampoo are rather wonderful. If I decide to blow dry my hair almost immediately after washing it, I’ve found that my hair is very smooth, soft and shiny (without the use of my Kerastase Cement Thermique) and smells of coconut for days afterwards. Similarly, if I decided not to spend half an hour blow-drying and straightening my hair, my hair drys just as shiny and soft as ever, and indeed in both instances my hair looks healthy which is key, something I struggled with shortly after I initially went blonde.

While I realise this entire post doesn’t seem to be a particularly glowing review of Lush’s Curly Wurly Shampoo in terms of the price, the smell and the unique extras, I’m actually very happy with the results it has given me, and I think I will continue to use this product (regardless of the coconut remnants I shake out of my hair on an almost-daily basis). I can absolutely appreciate the price may be a little much for some people*, however as I’ve said, I alternate this shampoo with another which obviously really helps prolonging the use of one pot, and makes it a little easier on your purse than what it might be if you used it religiously, day in day out.

One thing I will say is make sure you utilise Lush’s amazing willingness to give free samples, so if you’re unsure as one of the lovely associates to grab you a small sample and try it out for yourself. Failing that, if you can buy the 100g pots as a slightly larger sample (before committing to the £10 pot) then again, do it, it’s less of a hit financially and I assure you, you’ll have lovely, healthy, bouncy hair just like mine before you know it!

So there you have it, branching out from bath-bombs and face-masks turned out pretty good after all!

Are you a keen user of Lush shampoo’s? Do you use the same as me, if so, what did you think?

Comment below and let me know!

Till the next time, 

love, Leigh 

xx

*I can hear my parent’s reactions right now.. ‘A tenner for some bloody shampoo?! She’s off her head that girl!’

3 thoughts on “LUSH REVIEW: Curly Wurly Shampoo

    1. Thank you, I’m glad it amused you! Lush have loads of different shampoo’s available, as it was my first proper branch out from the bath-bomb comfort zone I suspect I’ll be trying more in future, but I’m more than happy with this one right now 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

