My Hair Care Essential: Kerastase Cement Thermique

Happy Sunday folks, I hope you’re all well.

Today I wanted to talk a little about what has fast become my favourite hair care product ever.
If you know me well enough, you’ll know I’ve had my fair share of home and salon hair-dye jobs. I’ve had red, purple, dark brown, black with red ends, auburn(ish), auburn with blonde highlights, and finally, blonde(ish) hair over the past couple of years.

The reds and the purples were annoying to maintain but didn’t do much damage to my hair, the blonde however…
I had to have my hair stripped, then the bleach from my highlights essentially turned my hair to straw. It was knotted, frizzy and all kinds of awful for ages.

I’d tried using Argan oil, as that seemed (and still is) a popular product for dry hair, but I just didn’t like how my hair* would feel afterwards (plus I didn’t like the smell). So, after my 6-weekly trip to the salon (blonde hair is a pain to maintain when you’re naturally brunette) my hair-stylist started using some new Kerastase products on my hair, one being the Cement Thermique reinforcing milk from the Kerastase Resistance range.

Granted, it’s kind of pricey at £20.50 for a 150ml bottle, considering I’m pretty sure you can buy a bottle of Argan Oil in Poundland, BUT don’t let that put you off.
It describes itself as a ‘Resurfacing reinforcing milk’ combating breakage and brittleness, while also acting as a heat-defence for blow drying and styling your hair, so basically, it’s a conditioner you leave in that smells amazing and protects your hair, perfect!

My hair-stylist told me to apply the product to wet, freshly-washed hair, a blob no bigger than a 2p coin massage it into the ends of the hair and work any excess into the roots. After that you’re good to blow dry your hair as normal, or just leave it to dry naturally as I sometimes like to do, to give my hair a brief break from the heat.
As I said before it smells amazing, a really clean, strong citrus smell that goes really well with the Soap and Glory Sugar Crush body wash, so most of the time I smell like a lime with nice, healthy hair.

So does it work?
The short answer is yes, it does.
I’ve been using this product for at least 6 months now and I’ve noticed a huge difference in the strength of my hair. Bleaching your hair obviously takes a lot out of it, and using this every time I wash my hair has acted as an extra boost, preventing my hair from turning into the clumpy knotted mess I used to tackle with on a daily basis before.
Another thing I’ll say is that I’ve used this for at least 6 months now, and have only just bought a new bottle, so even though it may cost £20, it’s pretty good value for money!

Of course, if Argan Oil works for you (or whatever else you like to use) then great, but for those looking for an alternative, Kerastase is 100% worth a try.

Till next time,

love, Leigh

x

P.s. Don’t forget to follow me on Bloglovin and Like my new Facebook page!

*the wife says its because I’d put too much product in my hair, which on reflection, is probably true… oh well!

4 thoughts on “My Hair Care Essential: Kerastase Cement Thermique

  1. This product sounds amazing! I have such fine, thin and whispy hair I hate it. It goes frizzy at the drop of a hat with loads of fly away hairs and is split ends galore. I do use an argan oil which I love a lot, but I don’t find it has a long term effect, and I use a colour protective shampoo and conditioner so cannot use a split end saver one. I’ll have to check this out – thank you! 🙂 x

    Karis // karisatkinson.blogspot.co.uk 

    1. It really is, my hair feels sleeker and looks like I’ve just walked out of the salon everytime I blow dry my hair! Colour protective shampoo can really take it out if your hair sometimes, from experience, my hair-stylist told me alternate between the colour shampoo and a normal hydrating shampoo, pain in the bum I know, but it helps!

      Thank you so much for reading! 😊
      Leigh
      xx

Leave a Reply

