An Alternative Valentine’s Day Look

… Which can also be used on any other day, or night, whatever you fancy.

Though I wouldn’t normally post on a Saturday, I’d gone through my usual cleansing routine and sat on my bedroom floor thinking about all the ‘Valentine’s Day Look’ post’s I had seen over the past week and thought there was an opportunity too good to miss.
An opportunity to get on my soap-box while also showcase some simply awesome products, perfect!

So, over the past week I have seen countless of posts demonstrating the different ‘looks’ bloggers will be wearing on Valentine’s Day, it all seemed so similar to me. Nude eyes with a ‘pop’ of dusty pink (that often you can’t even see on the lid – maybe the products aren’t pigmented, or I’m just heavy handed?) in the crease and a really light baby pink lipgloss/stick depending on preference. Really cute and ‘princess-y’ as my housemate described it. I mean, that’s absolutely fine, I have no problem with anyone else’s look, honestly, I just didn’t see anything that suited me perfectly.
Instead, I thought I’d do one for myself.

The trouble is, I’ve found over the years of experimenting with make-up, I don’t like to do things by halves. When I’m going to wear colour, I make sure people can see it. Even when I’m wearing basic nude make-up, I make sure it’s visible, otherwise what’s the point?

Anyway, I’ve decided to go with a reasonably dark, purple/maroon eye with two types of lip, depending on how brave you are. in the first look I decided to use ‘Pure Heroine’ from MAC, for real shock-factor (I’m not sure it really goes with the eyes, but I don’t care, I like it), then I took that off because I had to head into town, and replaced it with my MAC ‘VIVA Glam Gaga 2’ and a Coral lip gloss over the top, because I’m brave, but I’m not THAT brave.
I like to think the ‘Pure Heroine’ look is more night time, while the Viva Glam is a daytime look.

To achieve this look, I used the products listed below:
Maybelline New York Colour Tattoo 24 Hour in ‘Metallic Pomegranate’ – used as a base shadow all over the lid
No7 Define & Shimmer Eye Palette – I’m not sure this is on the market any more, however, any dark brown/black shade will work, blended gently into the crease. Then take a plum-colour shadow and dab that across the lid too, don’t blend it too much, you don’t want to conceal the colour from the base too much (if that makes sense?).
Make Up Revolution London Salvation Palette ‘Welcome to the Pleasuredome’ – I’m unsure of the name of the shade, however any light gold shimmery shade will do, dabbed gently into the corner of the eye and blended lightly outwards. I also thought it a nice touch to brush some into the waterline of my lower lid, just to brighten things up a little!
No7 Midnight Lash – To finish, a couple of licks of black mascara!

Even though I don’t have anyone in particular to show this look off to, I still thought I should post because I wanted to say, it’s good being different.
Yes subtle and cute is nice if you’re that kind of person, but I’m not and I wouldn’t really think of trying to emulate any of what I’ve seen in the past week, just because it’s Valentines Day. The way I see it, your Valentine will fancy you regardless of what you look like. Hell, they might even admire you more for being a little bit different, and if they don’t, well clearly they’re shallow and not worth the time of day!
My point is, when you’re getting ready to go for dinner tonight, wherever it may be, if you’ve been thinking of trying out that new eyeliner, or that lipstick colour that you love but aren’t too sure about, wear it.
Wear it, be brave and feel absolutely awesome as a result.

So, what do you think of this look?
Tweet me @alejashleigh or comment below and let me know.

P.s. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

