The terrifying reality of life after University

So, 2015.

The last half of my final year at University has already begun, and I’d be lying if I said I was looking forward to returning home. But before you think ‘Leigh that’s awful, what about your mum and dad?’ just hear me out.
When I first moved to Chester I expected it to be a lot harder than it really was. Sure I didn’t really get along with my housemates as much as other houses did, but after I got into the swing of university life and began to make friends on my course, I was pretty damn happy!

The whole point of university is to become independent, to manage your own learning, handle all kinds of ‘real world’ responsibilities and gain new experiences. Simple things like deciding what to have for tea or having a spur-of-the-moment bev without getting the judgemental eye, all make you feel a bit more adult. To return back home and live by someone else’s rules once again isn’t a concept many young adults are likely to relish in.

See, up until the end of last year the plan was to save up enough money to be able to afford to rent a flat, and work full time until the following year where I would start my Masters course. Unfortunately, I haven’t been particularly lucky on the job front during my time at Uni, and I’m not convinced I’d be able to balance working and the workload from my course at the same time. Though I like to think I’m quite well organised with studying, I’ll happily admit I’m not THAT good, especially with the dreaded Dissertation looming over me!

Even if I do have my year at home, then return to Chester to do my MA, what comes next? I can’t really say if I’d be able to do a PhD, that all depends on if I figure out something I want to look at specifically. In my mind I’d love a career in social media, being the one creating the content rather than just promoting it. Social media has grown so much since the launch of sites like Facebook and Twitter, YouTube also has a massive influence over society, creating a whole wave of ‘YouTubers’ that earn thousands (millions even, as the Slo Mo Guys do) and gain a kind of ‘celebrity’ status but still have the ability to remain largely anonymous in actual celebrity culture. To quote Hannah Montana, it’s the best of both worlds.

So yes, time to start sharing my posts guys!

I think when I first started out at University I had arrived with the hope of figuring out what I really wanted to do with my life. Now I have almost reached the end, I feel as though I’m forcing myself to choose a career, and fast. Hell, I’ve even considered teaching…

Anyone who knows me knows I’d never do ANYTHING of the sort. I don’t fancying devoting my life to indifferent teenagers. Obviously I respect anyone who does want to do that, it just isn’t for me.

I’ve read other blogs that talk about similar issues, each claiming ‘it’s ok, some people don’t figure out what they want to do until years after University’, which is all well and good, but what about the now? I don’t really fancy drifting around in various dead-end jobs until inspiration suddenly comes and hits me in the face.

My advice, to any first/second year students reading this would be to plan out as much as you can as best you can NOW. Don’t get too wrapped up in just enjoying Uni life, think of after University too, because I have it on good authority from my old housemates that ‘Real-Life sucks’, and you sure as hell don’t want to be in my position when you’re about to leave!

One thought on “The terrifying reality of life after University

Leave a Reply

