Lanzarote isn’t grotty

A couple of days before I flew out to Lanzarote, I had a quick browse on WordPress to see what had already been written about it.
I have to say I wasn’t particularly impressed with the findings.
Lanzarote is much like a second home to me; we’ve holidayed here for 16 years and feel like we know the island pretty well. This makes it difficult for me to take other bloggers ‘reviews’ seriously when they only visit once for a fortnight (if that) and complain that it’s dusty, run down and lacks tradition.
I think that because Lanzarote isn’t Thailand, or a Safari holiday in Kenya, people write it off as an interesting place to visit.
So with this in mind, I decided to document a little bit of my time here, to show people there’s more to Lanzarote than sunbathing and €1 pints of beer.

* * *

On Tuesday my parents picked up the hire car we’d ordered for the week with plans to visit some obscure places, off the beaten track. Everyone visits the resorts, including us. My favourite resort has to be Playa Blanca, in spite of it being further away from the other resorts (i.e Puerto Del Carmen) the harbour is very pretty, and gives visitors the opportunity to take the ferry across to Fuertaventura if they fancy it.
On the way to Playa Blanca are two villages, Uga and Yaiza, both quiet, well kept and a contrast to the busy resorts, a good example of tradition for those claiming otherwise. A little further out from there is Los Hervideros, one of the places we visited yesterday.

Los Hervideros translated means ‘boiling pots’, and is a series of lava-made caves by the sea on the way to another, more well-known attraction, El Golfo.
We were told the best time to visit would be on a cloudy, windy day where the sea is much choppier, however I would argue it’s just as magnificent regardless of the weather. I would suggest wearing some sensible footwear, as you are essentially wandering around on a rock-face above quite a seizable cave. I say this because I saw some woman teetering about in heels when I visited… completely inappropriate. Also, don’t forget to bring a camera!

After we’d wandered around the caves, we got back into the car and decided to visit El Golfo for the first time in quite a few years. As you’ll see in the photo gallery, El Golfo houses a big green lake (Lago Verde), not a Golf Course as some might think! Though it doesn’t look particularly interesting, El Golfo is actually a ‘half-submerged volcano cone’ which has been gradually eroded by the sea, leaving behind some spectacular-shaped rock faces and the half-moon shaped lake. Lago Verde is thought to house micro-organisms entirely unique to that lake, along with volcanic minerals and algae that gives the lake its striking colour.
El Golfo is yet another example of a typical Canarian village, complete with multi-coloured wooden boats and some pretty looking seafood restaurants if you fancy testing your taste buds as well as your Spanish!

While the vast majority of coach tours on the island are likely to visit El Golfo, I don’t know of any that visit Los Hervideros (but I could be wrong, don’t quote me on it!), I would advise hiring a car if possible, so you’re able to visit the slightly more obscure places.

Anyway, until the next time…

Leave a Reply

