Quickie – Lorde

Just thought I’d do a quick post about how much I’m enjoying listening to Lorde at the moment.

Everyone has been kind of jumping on the band wagon with her, so I thought I’d give her a whirl. Amazingly I didn’t totally hate ‘Royals’ after Dee 106.3 had completely over-played it for months at work.

I think from listening to the lyrics in ‘Royals’, I had already stereotyped her into being a bit ditzy with blonde hair and some good songwriters behind her. In fact, initially I thought it was Rhianna singing, but then I quickly realized that Rhianna can’t really sing without lots of noise behind her, so that thought got scrapped.

After doing a bit of research, I can thankfully say Lorde is far from the ditzy blonde I first envisioned. Instead she’s an intelligent, incredibly mature young woman, posting photos of herself without make-up or airbrushing, and repeating her mantra that no-one is entirely perfect. She’s even gone as far as criticizing Taylor Swift for being too perfect, and therefore unrealistic for her fans. It’s about time someone said it!

Anyway, the album ‘Pure Heroine’ is very minimalist. I read in an interview somewhere that she didn’t believe in over-embellishing her songs, especially when the only instrument she has is her voice, therefore it makes sense to showcase it. Fair enough.

As a result, each track generally features some kind of electronic feel to it, bass drum beats to give the tracks a bit of movement and what can only be described as soothing vocal harmonies. While the music might not sound groundbreaking on its own, teamed with Lorde’s elaborate lyrics, you can maybe begin to understand why she already has a Grammy. It’s like listening to someone who is quite clearly intelligent with some good ideas, but doesn’t cloud the sound, it stays pure and innocent (bit cliche, sorry, I can’t think of another word). In my opinion the whole album is pretty damn good!

So if you’re after a different genre of pop then give Lorde a whirl, she’s a long way away from Rhianna and Katy Perry, she has substance for a start…

Β 

Here are some links to my favorite tracks from the album:

Team – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JuxM-snGc

Glory and Gore – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vEHHh8IBhpY

Buzzcut Season – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pstVCGyaUBM

400 Lux – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWGQduke0tc

White Teeth Teens – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GEQWKYQNBaY

Β 

Β 

2 thoughts on “Quickie – Lorde

Leave a Reply

