Ranting in true Leigh-fashion

Why oh why must the typical woman find it so difficult to  spread her money out evenly to tide her over until the next  pay day? Why must the world thrive on women and their  desperate needs for that £10,000 Hermes handbag, and those  Christian Louboutin skyscraper heels that Lady Gaga wore to  arrive at Toronto airport?

Why must the world be so cruel and deny women of having beautiful things unless they have enough money to be able to pay off America’s debts, should they choose to? Curse you Capitalism! Curse the day you ever introduced me into the world of online shopping and paying with plastic!

As you may or may not be able to tell, I, amongst many other women in the world, simply cannot control themselves when they have money in their accounts crying out to be spent on £50 headphones purely because Lady Gaga has endorsed them. Only a few moments ago I read Gaga was due to be making a perfume to be released in the spring of 2012, and guess who will be at the front of the queue to buy it, regardless of whether it smells dreadful or not.

Of course, I am not the most extreme case of compulsive spending known to man, though I am only 17, and what are the chances of it progressing into a wider scale problem in the future?

I might as well declare myself bankrupt now.

Unfortunately, it’s no-one’s fault but my own this time, and I openly admit that. But why is it that I (or we, because it isn’t just me who has this problem… surely) feel the desperate need to spend my money on anything and everything I think I might need?

I, amongst many others, are victims of advertising and endorsement. In a recent classroom debate, 95% of students (all of which were in year 9) admitted to be most likely to buy a Nike t-shirt for £45, just for the sake of the logo on the plastic bag they would receive after purchasing it. First of all, what are the chances that these children are actually buying their clothes from their OWN money, that they have worked long and hard to earn? Very slim if you ask me.

That aside, the fact that these children are willing to pay ridiculous amounts of money just for the sake of having a certain piece of stitching on the top corner of a t-shirt, or a label at the back of their neck that no-one is going to notice unless its pointed out to them, is in my opinion quite worrying.

Dress-down days are a prime example of this. Informally nicknamed the “Fashion Show” students feel that this is their chance to show off every “designer” label they have in their wardrobes, and don’t choose to hold back on modesty either! I’ve seen girls dripping in Vivienne Westwood jewellery, foundation and fake-tan alike, in fact, I can hardly every tell the difference between one girl and another, they are identical. It’s exactly the same with the boys, in their drop crotch Aqua Couture jeans and their low cut All Saints t-shirts. Its monotonous, and lacks any clear evidence of character whatsoever.

There is an un-necessary pressure to look a specific way, and if you don’t look that way, you become an outcast. The newly developed stereotype of a “normal” girl has turned into someone who closely resembles Morph, with more foundation on their face than what you would find in a house, hair that has been so frequently dyed and straightened that it resembles straw, and so stick thin that you would never believe they had been given a decent Sunday dinner in their entire lives.

And heaven forbid, should you not look like this, you will be completely friendless and branded a “freak” for all eternity.

No.

Quite frankly dear readers, it doesn’t/shouldn’t work like that. There is much more to a person than what they look like on the outside, we don’t HAVE to dress up just to walk down to the shops to get a magazine, we are perfectly capable of creating genuine strong friendships without feeling the need to turn ourselves into another clone. Where is the originality in that?

You may well say that I have no right to talk in this way, given I have admitted that I have fallen foul of this myself, which I will admit is a valid point, but I haven’t forced you to read up to this point. In-fact, I haven’t forced you to read this at all. All I am merely saying is, do you really need to spend all your money on the “latest technology of mascara wand” or the jeans that everyone else is wearing, therefore you have to do the same?

Will your friends really stop talking to you if you decided that you would come to school one day and NOT have straight hair and a tonne of make-up?

If they are really your friends, and respect you for you, then do a revolutionary thing, and think when you go to the mirror and turn on the straighteners (male’s included!).

Is being unique and original going to break you as a person?

Leave a Reply

